Skip to main content

About the Cultural Medallion


Instituted in 1979 by our late President, then Minister of Culture, Mr Ong Teng Cheong, the Cultural Medallion is Singapore’s highest arts accolade, honouring individuals whose artistic excellence, contribution and commitment have enriched and distinguished Singapore’s arts and culture scene.  

This award celebrates inspiring local arts practitioners who display professional maturity in their practice through a distinctive body of work, and who have made extraordinary contributions to Singapore’s artistic development and pushed boundaries in their respective fields of artistic practice, with good local and international standing and a strong display of leadership. 

The Cultural Medallion is presented by the President, Republic of Singapore and administered by the National Arts Council (NAC). To date, the Cultural Medallion has been conferred on a total of 130 artists  in the fields of film, literary arts, performing arts and visual arts.


Cultural Medallion Fund

Each Cultural Medallion recipient will have access to funds of up to $80,000 to support their continuous artistic pursuit and help them make a positive impact on Singapore’s arts and culture development by engaging the wider community through their projects.

This amount could be used for a single project or multiple projects over the recipient's lifetime. 

For more information on the Cultural Medallion Fund, download the guidelines here and the application form.











HY03_R 275x250

Ho Ho Ying

MP2_R 275x250Milenko Prvacki

JMS3_R 275x250J. M. Sali

JT6_R 275x250

Jennifer Tham

TS2_R 275x250Thirunalan Sasitharan


Atin Amat_R 275x250Halimah Bte Jaafar (Atin Amat)

Kelly Tang_R 275x250Dr Kelly Tang

Lim Yew Kuan_R 275x250

Lim Yew Kuan

Yusnor ResizedYusnor Ef


CM2010_Amanda Heng 275x250Amanda Heng

Liang Wern Fook_R 275x250Dr Liang Wern Fook

CM2010_Suratman Markasan 275x250

Suratman Markasan


Ang Ah Tee_R 275x250

Ang Ah Tee

Angela Liong Pui-Yin _R 275x250

Angela Liong

Lan Shui _R 275x250Lan Shui

Tham Yew Chin_R 275x250Tham Yew Chin


Chia Hwee Pheng_R 275x250Chia Hwee Pheng

Iskandar Mirza Ismail _R 275x250

Iskandar Mirza Ismail

P. Krishnan_R 275x250

P. Krishnan


Eric Khoo_R 275x250

Eric Khoo

Isa Kamari

Isa Kamari


SEAH Lynette_R 275x250

Lynnette Seah

Tan Choh Tee_R 275x250

Tan Choh Tee


Seok Tin_R 275x250Chng Seok Tin

Dick Lee_R 275x250Dick Lee

Lee Wen_R 275x250Lee Wen

Balakrishnan_R 275x250M. Balakrishnan (MA. Ilangkannan)

Jack Neo_R 275x250Jack Neo


TBY_R 275x193Teo Bee Yen


LimTze Peng_R 275x250Lim Tze Peng

OngKengSen_R 275x250Ong Keng Sen

YengPwayNgon_R 275x250Yeng Pway Ngon


Jeremy Monteiro_R 275x250Professor Jeremy Monteiro


Tan Kian Por_R 275x250Tan Kian Por

Yan Hui Chang_R 275x250Yan Hui Chang


Tan Siah Kwee_R 275x250Professor Tan Siah Kwee


Abdul Ghani bin Abdul Hamid_R 275x250Abdul Ghani Bin Abdul Hamid

Chua Ek Kay_R275x250Chua Ek Kay


Rama Kannabiran_R275x250Rama Kannabiran


Ho Minfong_R 275x250Ho Minfong

Lou Mee Wah _R 275x250Lou Mee Wah


Lew Poo Chan_R 275x250Lew Poo Chan (Dan Ying)

Phoon Yew Tien_R 275x250Phoon Yew Tien


Mdm Goh Lay Kuan_R275x250Goh Lay Kuan

Han Sai Por_R275x250Han Sai Por


Tay Teow Kiat_R275x250Dr Tay Teow Kiat


Choo Hwee Lim_275x250Choo Hwee Lim

Mdm Phan Wait Hong_R275x250Phan Wait Hong

Wang Sui Pick_R 275x250Wang Sui Pick

Ying E Ding_275x250Ying E Ding


Anthony Poon_275x250Anthony Poon

Chew Kok Chang_275x250Chew Kok Chang

HanLaoDa_R 275x250Han Lao Da

Lim Yau_275x250Lim Yau

Ong Kim Seng_275x250Ong Kim Seng

Santha Bhaskar_R 275x250

Santha Bhaskar

Peng Seng Wu_275x250Wu Peng Seng


Foo Tee Jun_R 275x250Foo Tee Jun

Goh Beng Kwan_275x250Goh Beng Kwan

Neila Sathyalingam_275x250Neila Sathyalingam

Kuo Pao Kun_275x250Kuo Pao Kun


Alexander Abisheganaden_275x250Alexander S. Abisheganaden

Chua Soo Bin_275x250Chua Soo Bin

Iskandar Jalil_R 275x250Iskandar Jalil

Lim Fei Shen_R 275x250Lim Fei Shen

N Abdul Rahman (Singai Mukilan)_R 275x250N. Abdul Rahman (Singai Mukilan)

Tay Bin Wee_ 275x250Tay Bin Wee


Lee Lim_275x250Lee Lim

Max Le Blond_R 275x250Dr Max Le Blond

Muhammad Ariff bin Ahmad_275x250Muhammad Ariff bin Ahmad

Mdm Som Bte Mohd Said_275x250Som Bte Mohd Said

Dr Tan Swie Hian_R 275x250Dr Tan Swie Hian

Teng Mah Seng_R 275x250Teng Mah Seng


Almahdi Al-Haj Abrahim nadiputra_275x250Almahdi Al-Haj Ibrahim (Nadiputra)

GohChooSan_R 275x250Goh Choo San

Pan Shou_275x250Pan Shou

N Pananivelu_275x250N. Palanivelu

Paul Abisheganaden_275x250Paul Abisheganaden

Teo Eng Seng_275x250Teo Eng Seng

Prof Wong Yoon Wah_275x250Professor Wong Yoon Wah


Dr Lee Tzu Pheng_275x250Dr Lee Tzu Pheng

Low Ing Sing_R 275x250Low Ing Sing

Tan Lip Seng_275x250Tan Lip Seng

Tay Chee Toh_275x250Tay Chee Toh


Kam Kee Yong_250x275Kam Kee Yong

S Varathan_250x275S. Varathan

Thomas Yeo_275x250Thomas Yeo

Yip Cheong Fun_R 275x250Yip Cheong Fun


Ang Chwee Chai_275x250Ang Chwee Chai

Dr Arthur Yap_275x250Dr Arthur Yap

Christopher Allen_R 275x250Christopher Allen

Vivien Goh_275x250Vivien Goh


David Tay_R 275x250David Tay

Georgette Chen Liying_R 275x250Georgette Chen

Goh Poh Seng_R 275x250Dr Goh Poh Seng

Leong Yoon Pin_275x250Leong Yoon Pin

Lin Chen_R 275x250Lin Chen


Ahmad Jaffar_250x275Ahmad Bin Ja'afar

Goh Soo Khim_250x275Goh Soo Khim

Mrs Joanna Wong_R 275x250Joanna Wu

Lee Hock Moh_R 275x250Lee Hock Moh

Ng Eng Teng_250x275Ng Eng Teng

Wong Meng Voon_275x250Dr Wong Men Won @ Wong Meng Voon


Bani Bin Buang_R 275x250Bani Bin Buang

Choo Hoey_250x275

David Lim_250x275David Lim

Prof Edwin Thumboo_R 275x250Professor Edwin Thumboo

Madhavi_250x275Madhavi Krishnan

Wee Beng Chong_250x275Wee Beng Chong