Skip to main content

About the Cultural Medallion

Instituted in 1979 by our late President, then Minister of Culture, Mr Ong Teng Cheong, the Cultural Medallion is Singapore’s highest arts accolade, honouring individuals whose artistic excellence, contribution and commitment have enriched and distinguished Singapore’s arts and culture scene.  

This award celebrates inspiring local arts practitioners who display professional maturity in their practice through a distinctive body of work, and who have made extraordinary contributions to Singapore’s artistic development and pushed boundaries in their respective fields of artistic practice, with good local and international standing and a strong display of leadership. 

The Cultural Medallion is presented by the President, Republic of Singapore and administered by the National Arts Council (NAC). To date, the Cultural Medallion has been conferred on a total of 135 artists in the fields of film, literary arts, performing arts and visual arts.

Cultural Medallion Fund

Each Cultural Medallion recipient will have access to funds of up to $80,000 to support their continuous artistic pursuit and help them make a positive impact on Singapore’s arts and culture development by engaging the wider community through their projects.

This amount could be used for a single project or multiple projects over the recipient's lifetime. 

For more information on the Cultural Medallion Fund, download the guidelines and the application form.













HY03_R 275x250

Ho Ho Ying

MP2_R 275x250

Milenko Prvacki

JMS3_R 275x250

J. M. Sali

JT6_R 275x250

Jennifer Tham

TS2_R 275x250

Thirunalan Sasitharan


Atin Amat_R 275x250

Halimah Bte Jaafar (Atin Amat)

Kelly Tang_R 275x250

Dr Kelly Tang

Lim Yew Kuan_R 275x250

Lim Yew Kuan

Yusnor Resized

Yusnor Ef


CM2010_Amanda Heng 275x250

Amanda Heng

Liang Wern Fook_R 275x250

Dr Liang Wern Fook

CM2010_Suratman Markasan 275x250

Suratman Markasan


Ang Ah Tee_R 275x250

Ang Ah Tee

Angela Liong Pui-Yin _R 275x250

Angela Liong

Lan Shui _R 275x250

Lan Shui

Tham Yew Chin_R 275x250

Tham Yew Chin


Chia Hwee Pheng_R 275x250

Chia Hwee Pheng

Iskandar Mirza Ismail _R 275x250

Iskandar Mirza Ismail

P. Krishnan_R 275x250

P. Krishnan


Eric Khoo_R 275x250

Eric Khoo

Isa Kamari

Isa Kamari


SEAH Lynette_R 275x250

Lynnette Seah

Tan Choh Tee_R 275x250

Tan Choh Tee


Seok Tin_R 275x250

Chng Seok Tin

Dick Lee_R 275x250

Dick Lee

Lee Wen_R 275x250

Lee Wen

Balakrishnan_R 275x250

M. Balakrishnan (MA. Ilangkannan)

Jack Neo_R 275x250

Jack Neo


TBY_R 275x193

Teo Bee Yen


LimTze Peng_R 275x250

Lim Tze Peng

OngKengSen_R 275x250

Ong Keng Sen

YengPwayNgon_R 275x250

Yeng Pway Ngon


Jeremy Monteiro_R 275x250

Professor Jeremy Monteiro


Tan Kian Por_R 275x250

Tan Kian Por

Yan Hui Chang_R 275x250

Yan Hui Chang


Tan Siah Kwee_R 275x250

Professor Tan Siah Kwee


Abdul Ghani bin Abdul Hamid_R 275x250

Abdul Ghani Bin Abdul Hamid

Chua Ek Kay_R275x250

Chua Ek Kay


Rama Kannabiran_R275x250

Rama Kannabiran


Ho Minfong_R 275x250

Ho Minfong

Lou Mee Wah _R 275x250

Lou Mee Wah


Lew Poo Chan_R 275x250

Lew Poo Chan (Dan Ying)

Phoon Yew Tien_R 275x250

Phoon Yew Tien


Mdm Goh Lay Kuan_R275x250

Goh Lay Kuan

Han Sai Por_R275x250

Han Sai Por


Tay Teow Kiat_R275x250

Dr Tay Teow Kiat


Choo Hwee Lim_275x250

Choo Hwee Lim

Mdm Phan Wait Hong_R275x250

Phan Wait Hong

Wang Sui Pick_R 275x250

Wang Sui Pick

Ying E Ding_275x250

Ying E Ding


Anthony Poon_275x250

Anthony Poon

Chew Kok Chang_275x250

Chew Kok Chang

HanLaoDa_R 275x250

Han Lao Da

Lim Yau_275x250

Lim Yau

Ong Kim Seng_275x250

Ong Kim Seng

Santha Bhaskar_R 275x250

Santha Bhaskar

Peng Seng Wu_275x250

Wu Peng Seng


Foo Tee Jun_R 275x250

Foo Tee Jun

Goh Beng Kwan_275x250

Goh Beng Kwan

Neila Sathyalingam_275x250

Neila Sathyalingam

Kuo Pao Kun_275x250

Kuo Pao Kun


Alexander Abisheganaden_275x250

Alexander S. Abisheganaden

Chua Soo Bin_275x250

Chua Soo Bin

Iskandar Jalil_R 275x250

Iskandar Jalil

Lim Fei Shen_R 275x250

Lim Fei Shen

N Abdul Rahman (Singai Mukilan)_R 275x250

N. Abdul Rahman (Singai Mukilan)

Tay Bin Wee_ 275x250

Tay Bin Wee


Lee Lim_275x250

Lee Lim

Max Le Blond_R 275x250

Dr Max Le Blond

Muhammad Ariff bin Ahmad_275x250

Muhammad Ariff bin Ahmad

Mdm Som Bte Mohd Said_275x250

Som Bte Mohd Said

Dr Tan Swie Hian_R 275x250

Dr Tan Swie Hian

Teng Mah Seng_R 275x250

Teng Mah Seng


Almahdi Al-Haj Abrahim nadiputra_275x250

Almahdi Al-Haj Ibrahim (Nadiputra)

GohChooSan_R 275x250

Goh Choo San

Pan Shou_275x250

Pan Shou

N Pananivelu_275x250

N. Palanivelu

Paul Abisheganaden_275x250

Paul Abisheganaden

Teo Eng Seng_275x250

Teo Eng Seng

Prof Wong Yoon Wah_275x250

Professor Wong Yoon Wah


Dr Lee Tzu Pheng_275x250

Dr Lee Tzu Pheng

Low Ing Sing_R 275x250

Low Ing Sing

Tan Lip Seng_275x250

Tan Lip Seng

Tay Chee Toh_275x250

Tay Chee Toh


Kam Kee Yong_250x275

Kam Kee Yong

S Varathan_250x275

S. Varathan

Thomas Yeo_275x250

Thomas Yeo

Yip Cheong Fun_R 275x250

Yip Cheong Fun


Ang Chwee Chai_275x250

Ang Chwee Chai

Dr Arthur Yap_275x250

Dr Arthur Yap

Christopher Allen_R 275x250

Christopher Allen

Vivien Goh_275x250

Vivien Goh


David Tay_R 275x250

David Tay

Georgette Chen Liying_R 275x250

Georgette Chen

Goh Poh Seng_R 275x250

Dr Goh Poh Seng

Leong Yoon Pin_275x250

Leong Yoon Pin

Lin Chen_R 275x250

Lin Chen


Ahmad Jaffar_250x275

Ahmad Bin Ja'afar

Goh Soo Khim_250x275

Goh Soo Khim

Mrs Joanna Wong_R 275x250

Joanna Wu

Lee Hock Moh_R 275x250

Lee Hock Moh

Ng Eng Teng_250x275

Ng Eng Teng

Wong Meng Voon_275x250

Dr Wong Men Won @ Wong Meng Voon


Bani Bin Buang_R 275x250

Bani Bin Buang

Choo Hoey_250x275

Dr Choo Hoey

David Lim_250x275

David Lim

Prof Edwin Thumboo_R 275x250

Professor Edwin Thumboo


Madhavi Krishnan

Wee Beng Chong_250x275

Wee Beng Chong