Public art can be commissioned by the Public Art Trust (PAT) through two main tracks:


PAT Commissions

As part of PAT’s role to proactively develop new public art, the PAT may commission Singapore and/or International artists to create unique public artwork for selected spaces/sites, which have been shortlisted from a repository of public spaces made available for use.

Artists can be commissioned either through:

  • An Open Call;
  • A Closed Call (nomination process);
  • A Direct Commission (existing proposals from database); or
  • A Direct Purchase.




To encourage more private donations to public art, the PAT provides a co-funding track where external commissioners may submit a proposal to co-commission Singapore or Permanent Resident artists to create public artwork on privately managed land or state land.

Co-commissioners may propose artworks in spaces/sites that are within their purview so long as they meet the following criteria:

  • Publicly accessible (open at least 12 hours a day for indoor spaces);
  • Has good public footfall (at least 5 days a week);
  • Adequate for display of proposed public art.



A complete proposal must be submitted to the PAT for assessment. If approved, the co- commission may be eligible for dollar-for-dollar matching through the Cultural Matching Fund.

If you have any queries regarding co-commissioning, please contact the PAT secretariat here.


Please use the Application Form provided below: