In the Spotlight

UNESCO ResiliArt Webinar: International Festivals and Policy in light of COVID-19

 

Date: 28 July 2020, Tuesday

Time: Adelaide, 21:30 | Singapore, 20:00 | Krakow, 14:00 | Edinburgh, 13:00 | Montreal, 8:00

Duration: 1 hour, 15 minutes

 

Description: The first half of 2020 has seen the COVID-19 pandemic pose a myriad of major hurdles for cities around the world. The creative economy has been especially devastated, with millions of artists, arts companies, cultural organisations affected and the global culture value chain severely disrupted. The festival sector, like the entire live performance industry, has taken a particularly hard hit. While many national and local governments have put in place measures to alleviate the effects of the crisis on festivals and their broader ecosystems, the longer-term policy implications and interventions are not yet clear. Panellists will discuss ways in which local and national governments can develop policies that support the recovery and health of the festival sector moving forward. For more information click here!

IFACCA Members' Forum: Supporting Culture In The Digital Age

Date: 22 July 2020, Wednesday

Time: 11:00-13:00 UTC | 7:00PM SGT

Duration: 2 hours

 

Description: Facilitated by expert author Octavio Kulesz, the forum will discuss Kulesz' report's core themes and recommendations to focus on the economic sustainability of the cultural value chain; digital divides; and collaborations and cross-portfolio approaches.  NAC Deputy CEO, Mr Paul Tan, will join other senior leaders from National Member institutions the Australia Council for the Arts, Canada Council for the Arts, Arts Council England, the Ministry of Culture and Sport in Spain, the Ministry of Cultural Affairs in Tunisia, and the Ministry of Education and Culture in Uruguay to share insights from their national contexts, discuss key issues, and consider a common framework to inform national digital strategies that reflect local needs and priorities. See panellists information here. For more information click here.

 

[This session is open to National and affiliate member institutions of the Federation.]  

 

Festival Cities Conversations

Date: 10 July 2020, Friday
Time: Brussels & Krakow, 13.00 PM | Adelaide, 20.30 PM | Singapore, 19.00 PM | Edinburgh, 12.00 PM | Montreal, 7.00 AM
Duration: 2 hours
 
Description: COVID-19 has presented both new challenges and opportunities for the festival sector.  With national borders closed, limited tourism will undeniably affect the visitor economy and festival audiences. Corporate sponsorship and public funding, difficult to access in the best of times, will become increasingly competitive. What’s more, the role of festivals in addressing health and well-being, improving accessibility, and supplementing arts education has changed significantly, and there are new demands on the sector that will need to be focused upon with innovation and foresight. Festivals will need to explore strategies that can unlock new potential in funding, programming, impact, and more. 

 

In this webinar, five representatives of the global festival sector will speak to new partnerships the festivals will seek with the well-being and philanthropy sectors, as well as the bold ideas needed to build resilience and shepherd the sector through the COVID-19 recovery process. Natalie Hennedige, Festival Director (Designate) of Singapore International Festival of Arts joins fellow leaders in the global festival sector to share insights on these issues.