Nominations Open for 2010 Arts Awards


Nominations Open for 2010 Arts Awards


In October 2009, visual artist Ang Ah Tee, dance choreographer Angela Liong, orchestral conductor Lan Shui and literary luminary Tham Yew Chin, received the highest honour in the Singapore arts scene – the Cultural Medallion. In addition, five young artists, film makers Boo Junfeng, Anthony Chen Zheyi, Han Yew Kwang, and visual artists Ho Tzu Nyen and Donna Ong, were recognised for their promising artistic excellence with the Young Artist Award.


Nominations for the 2010 Cultural Medallion and Young Artist Award are now open.


The National Arts Council encourages the public to actively participate in nominating deserving Singapore artists for the Awards. Nominees must be Singaporean or Permanent Residents of Singapore. The closing date for nominations is Friday, 26 February 2010.


The Cultural Medallion, instituted in March 1979, is conferred by the President of the Republic of Singapore to individuals who have attained artistic excellence. To date, the Medallion has been awarded to 97 artists. Recipients are also eligible for the Cultural Medallion Grant, which awards a quantum of up to S$80,000 to enable them to embark on new major projects.


The Young Artist Award was introduced in 1992 to encourage the development of new artistic talent in Singapore. The Award, presented by the Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts, is accorded to young artists, aged 35 years and below, who have shown promise of artistic excellence. The Young Artist Award has been awarded to 101 budding artists to date.


Both awards comprise four broad categories for nominations:

  1. Literary Arts - plays, poetry, fiction and non-fiction
  2. Performing Arts - theatre, dance, music and technical theatre (eg. Set design, lighting design, sound design)
  3. Visual Arts - painting, drawing, printmaking, photography, sculpture, installation and multimedia
  4. Film - film making


Nominations supported by the National Arts Council will be assessed by specialist panels for literary arts, performing arts, visual arts, and film. To make a nomination online, or for more information, please visit the National Arts Council website:


You are warmly invited to lend coverage to the nominations of the 2010 Arts Awards.


For public enquiries, please contact: