New Areas To Be Recognised in 2005 Arts Awards


Awards Open for Nominations


The Arts Awards, comprising the Cultural Medallion and the Young Artist Award, will recognise new areas such as multi-media art, technical theatre and pop music with effect from 2005.  The scope of the Arts Award has been redefined and expanded in response to the increasingly overlapping boundaries of arts practices and multi-disciplinary art forms.  


The award nominations used to be submitted under specific genres of art, music, theatre, photography, dance, literature and film. There will now be four broad categories for nominations namely literary arts, performing arts, visual arts and film, under which existing and new genres will be subsumed. Artists, whose works blur the lines in relation to how traditional art forms are normally perceived, will now have the opportunity to have their work and achievements acknowledged.


Details of the broad categories are as follows:


Art Form Scope (includes, but is not restricted to)
Literary Arts plays, poetry, fiction and non-fiction
Performing Arts theatre, dance, music and technical theatre (eg. set design, lighting design, sound design)
Visual Arts painting, drawing, printmaking, photography, sculpture, installation and multimedia
Film film-making


Nominations for the 2005 Arts Awards are now open and the National Arts Council invites the public to nominate well-deserving Singapore artists for the Awards. The closing date for nominations is 14 January 2005.  


Nominations supported by the Council will be submitted to Specialist Panels for further assessment. These Specialist Panels for literary arts, performing arts, visual arts and film respectively will comprise individuals established in the various fields and  will be appointed by the Council.


Assessment by the Specialist Panels is based on the following principal criteria:

a. Candidate should be recognized for his/her artistic work and contribution.

b. Candidate should have attained artistic excellence (for Cultural Medallion award) or have shown potential to excel in his/her field of work (for Young Artist award).

c. Candidate should demonstrate, through a body of works pursued through a number of years, creative originality and professional maturity in one or more disciplines as specified in the scope of award.  

d. Candidate could be an inspiration and role model to other young artists in the arts community


2005 Cultural Medallion

The Cultural Medallion, instituted in March 1979, is conferred by the Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts on individuals who have attained artistic excellence.  To date, the Medallion has been awarded to 81 artists.


2005 Young Artist Award

The Young Artist Award was introduced in 1992 to encourage the development of artistic talent in Singapore.  The Award is accorded to young artists, aged 35 years and below, who have shown promise of artistic excellence. To date, the Award has been conferred on 71 recipients.


All nominations must be made on the nomination forms for the Cultural Medallion or Young Artist Award respectively.  Nominees must be Singaporean or permanent residents of Singapore. 


Nomination forms are available from the National Arts Council, 140 Hill Street, #03-01 MICA Building, Singapore 179369 and NAC's website:  For public enquiries, please contact Ms Christina Sho (DID: 6837 9746, email: or Ms Avin Lee (DID: 6837 9857, email: