National Arts Education Award 2005


Dialogue Session


Date : 2 November 2004 (Tuesday)
Time : 3.00 pm
Venue : Le Meridien Hotel
    Margaux Ballroom (Level 1)
    100 Orchard Road


From 2005 the NAE Award, a national arts award for schools in Singapore, will be extended to primary schools. The NAE Award will now be presented to the respective categories in alternate years:

  1. Primary Schools

  2. Secondary Schools, Junior Colleges and Centralised Institutes


The award for both categories are as follows:

  • Gold Award - $10,000, trophy and certificate
  • Silver Award - $3,000, trophy and certificate
  • Bronze Award - $1,000, trophy and certificate


The National Arts Council (NAC) presents this Award annually to:

  • recognise schools that provide opportunities for all students to be involved and show excellence in the arts;
  • encourage and reward schools with good arts practices and programmes


Such schools adopt a coherent and integrated approach that seeks to achieve the goals of their arts programmes and are committed to the processes which sustain achievements in the arts. 


The NAE Award Criteria will cover three areas:


  • School Policy and Planning
    examines how the school articulates and implements its policy on arts education for a holistic education
  • Implementation of Programmes
    examines how the school implements its arts programmes, nurtures the potential of its staff, provides opportunities to maximise the use of resources as well as cultivate partnerships with other organizations, to attain the goals of the arts programmes
  • Arts Achievement and Arts Culture
    examines how the school promotes a vibrant arts culture and achieves positive results


The framework for the NAE Award Criteria are set out in Annex 2 for your reference. All primary schools may apply for the award. The Application Report is available on the NAC's Arts Education website


For more information, please refer to the attached:


Annex 1 - Agenda for NAE Award 2005 Dialogue Session


Annex 2 - NAE Award 2005 Criteria Framework