More Local Arts Bursaries Disbursed!


2005 Scholarships and Bursaries Awards

Presentation Ceremony


Date  : Monday, 22 August 2005
Time   : 10.00 am
Venue  : Ngee Ann Auditorium, Asian Civilisations Museum (Empress Place)
Guest of Honour               : Dr Balaji Sadasivan, Senior Minister of State, Ministry of   Information, Communications and the Arts & Ministry of Health


The National Arts Council (NAC) will award scholarships and bursaries worth $772,200 to 66 arts practitioners and students this year. With the rising number of students pursuing arts-related studies in local institutions, more funding has been disbursed for Local Arts Bursaries. A total of 12 recipients will receive $74,000 worth of Local Arts Bursaries registering 100% increase in the number of recipients and 87.4% increase in the amount awarded compared to last year.


The greater financial assistance, in tandem with the enhanced arts education infrastructure and curriculum help to expand the artistic talent pool locally and further Singapore as a vibrant, conducive and stimulating arts education hub. Local Arts Bursary recipients Rachel Lim Yan Ling and Ten Hui Yu will be pursuing arts management degrees in Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts and LASALLE-SIA College of the Arts respectively, while theatre practitioner Zachary Ho will be enrolled in the Theatre Training & Research Programme in Practice Performing Arts School.


NAC scholarships and bursaries are awarded annually for local and overseas studies in the performing, literary and visual arts, also arts management, technical design and arts production. Top recipients this year are Shell-NAC Arts Scholars Vincent Yong Wee Long, the first Singaporean to be accepted into the Rotterdam Dance Academy; and Yang Jiwei, first prize winner of the 2004 National Chinese Music Competition’s Combined (Guanzi, Suona & Sheng) category.


"As a caring and dynamic innovator, Shell is committed to sustainable development - ensuring the overall quality of life in the community we operate in for the long-term. And the arts in Singapore has been highlighted to be an important dimension. This year, I am delighted that our two scholars, Vincent Yong and Yang Ji Wei have distinguished themselves on our local cultural map. I am confident that the creative flair, capacities and commitment of these three new ambassadors of the arts will be significantly enhanced by the enrichment made possible by their Shell-NAC scholarships. This will no doubt boost the overall standards of the arts in Singapore, contributing meaningfully to Singapore's social capital. Shell is thrilled to invest in the community through these outstanding individuals and offer them our heartiest congratulations,” said Mr Albert Tan, Shell's General Manager for External Affairs.


Others recipients include Elizabeth De Roza, one of Singapore’s strongest physical theatre performers, and 10-year-old violin protégé, Gabriel Ng. Gabriel is the youngest recipient to be awarded the Gifted Young Musician’s Bursary and will pursue his studies at the prestigious Yehudin Menuhin Music School.


The Shell-NAC Arts Scholarship, Georgette Chen Arts Scholarship, Gifted Young Musicians’ Bursary and NACArts Bursaries (Overseas and Local) will be presented at the ceremony by Dr Balaji Sadasivan, Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts, and Ministry of Health. There are no new recipients for the Arts Professional Scholarship and Chen Chong Swee Arts Scholarship this year.


Details of the 2005 NAC Scholarship and Bursary Schemes are attached as follows:



  • Summary of SchemesList of recipients of the Shell-NAC Arts Scholarship and Georgette Chen
  •   Arts Scholarship List of recipients of the Gifted Young Musicians’ Bursary and NAC Overseas and Local Arts Bursaries
  • Programme
  • Media Reply Slip