Singapore, 13 May 2015 – The National Arts Council (NAC) is pleased to announce the open call for submission of works for the competition, Singapore’s only multi-lingual national creative writing competition for Short Story and Poetry. Into its 12th edition, the Golden Point Award 2015 opens for registration from now till 30 June 2015.


2          Mr Khor Kok Wah, Senior Director, Sector Development (Literary Arts) of NAC says, “The Golden Point Award is Singapore’s most important multi-lingual platform to discover and showcase emerging literary talents of all ages and from all walks of life. The competition remains a significant platform to spotlight a new generation of writers, cultivate literary excellence and promote literary expression in Singapore.”


3          This premier biennial competition counts writers such as Joshua Ip, Chow Teck Seng, Yazid Hussein and Indrajit s/o Perumal Pillay among its list of accomplished alumni, who have gone on to active publishing following the exposure from GPA.  After winning the 1st prize for Short Story and 2nd prize for Poetry in the 2013 and 2011 editions of the GPA respectively, Mr Ip went on to win the Singapore Literature Prize (SLP) 2014 with his poetry collection Making Love with Scrabble Tiles. Mr Yazid, the 1st prize GPA winner of the Malay Short Story category in 2009, had three works shortlisted in SLP 2014 of which his anthology Kumpulan Cerpen Armageddon won 1st prize in the Malay Fiction category.


4          This year, NAC will work with The Arts House to organise and manage the competition. Bringing their wealth of experience in organising such awards and events, The Arts House will operate as the secretariat for GPA 2015.


5          The results of the competition will be revealed at the GPA Prize-Giving Ceremony, which will be held during the Singapore Writers Festival 2015 in early November. Please refer to the Appendix for a fact sheet of the competition. The official entry form is available for download from the GPA website at





About the Golden Point Award


Established in 1993, the biennial Golden Point Award is Singapore’s premier national creative writing competition and aims to encourage new writing for both short stories and poetry in our four official languages – English, Chinese, Malay, and Tamil. The competition also aims to identify and nurture new literary talents and create a conducive environment for creative thinking and literary expression in Singapore.


The competition is open only to writers who, at time of application, have yet to publish a solo work in the specific genre they are competing in. A solo work refers to a full-length work published by a Singapore or international publishing company, sold or distributed commercially. Writers whose works have been published in journals or anthologies are eligible to enter. There is no age limit and entries may be written on any subject and theme.


Registration per entry is S$16 and submission of entries will close on 30 June 2015, 5pm.




The competition consists of the following two genre categories for all four languages:

• Short Story (English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil)

• Poetry (English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil)




1st Prize

$4,000 cash, a trophy, a certificate and a $6,000 enrichment grant*

2nd Prize

$3,000 cash and a certificate

3rd Prize

$2,000 cash and a certificate

Honourable Mention     

Up to three Honourable Mentions, with a cash prize of $500 each, can be awarded per genre per language category. This is to recognise participants who have shown potential in their writing.


*Introduced in 1997, the enrichment grant is awarded to first prize winners to assist writers in furthering their skills through participation in writing seminars, workshops and residencies in Singapore or overseas, or for publication of a solo work.