Appointment of new members to National Arts Council


The National Arts Council (NAC) welcomes six new members to the Council for a 2-year term commencing 1 September 2006. They are:


Professor Jeremy Monteiro – Jazz Pianist / Composer / Educator

Dubbed Singapore’s “King of Swing” and a Grammy Awards jury member, Prof. Monteiro has extensive links in the international music scene. A Cultural Medallion recipient in 2002, he was recently appointed Professor and Visiting Chair for LASALLE-SIA College of the Arts’ Jazz programme.


Mr Ong Keng Sen – Artistic Director, TheatreWorks (S) Ltd

Mr Ong has created acclaimed, cutting-edge contemporary multi-disciplinary productions in Asia and Europe. A Fulbright scholar, Mr Ong received the Cultural Medallion and the Distinguished Artist Award by the International Society for the Performing Arts in 2003.


Mr Sarkasi Said – Visual Artist

Mr Sarkasi is a widely respected master of batik painting. A firm advocate for the promotion of ethnic arts, Mr Sarkasi was a Member of the Singapore Art Museum and NAC’s Art Resource Panel from 1992-1998. He is currently Chairman of Public Affairs and Education at the Malay Heritage Foundation.


Mr Hsieh Fu Hua – Chief Executive Officer, Singapore Exchange Limited

A leading figure in the financial industry, Mr Hsieh holds directorships in several financial institutions and businesses. He has been active in the implementation of the National Art Gallery Project under the purview of the Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts. Under this Project, Mr Hsieh sits as a member of its Steering Committee, and chairs the advisory group on business & finance matters.


Ms Vera Ong – Co-Owner & Art Consultant, Art-2 Gallery Pte Ltd

Ms Ong is an established art dealer. The Vice-President of the Art Galleries Association, she has been an active member for various NAC advisory and assessment panels, including Arts Resource Panel (Visual Arts), and chaired the Council’s Annual Grant Visual Arts Assessment Panel in 2006.


Mr Ng Cher Pong – Divisional Director, Workplace Policy and Strategy Division, Ministry of Manpower

Mr Ng received a First Class Honours degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Cambridge (Downing College) while on an Overseas Merit Scholarship. Also a Singapore Government Scholar, Mr Ng has held various positions in the civil service, including with the Ministry of National Development, Urban Redevelopment Authority and the Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts. Council members are drawn from a cross-section of leading and prominent figures from the public and private sectors, as well as the arts community. The 18-member Council guides the work of NAC and helps shape the direction and formulation of arts policy and strategy for the development and promotion of the arts in Singapore. It also advises the management on the planning and operation of the Council’s major arts initiatives and schemes.


The Council would like to thank outgoing members Mr Noor Effendy bin Ibrahim, Mr Matthew Ngui, Mr Iskandar Jalil, Mr Paul Lawrence, Mr Lawrence Leow and Mr Albert Chua for their past contributions and services to the Council.


The full list of Council members is in the Annex.