Appointment of National Arts Council Members


Appointment of National Arts Council Members


The Acting Minister for Information, Communications and The Arts has appointed eight new members to the National Arts Council for a 2-year term from 1 September


2010 to 31 August 2012. They are:

  • Mr Dick Chia, Group CEO, Helu-Trans Group
  • Mr Latiff Ibrahim, Managing Director, Inca Law LLC
  • Ms Sim Ann, Director, National Population Secretariat,  Prime Minister’s Office
  • Ms Audrey Wong Wai Yen, Programme Leader, LASALLE  College of the Arts
  • Ms Woo Mun Ngan, Assistant Editor, zbNow, Lianhe Zaobao
  • Mr Vinod Kumar, Chief Operating Officer, TATA Communications
  • Mr Yam Ah Mee, Chief Executive Director, People’s Association
  • Mr Yeoh Oon Jin, Head of Assurance, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP


The following six existing members were re-appointed for a 2-year term:

  • Ms Aw Kah Peng, Chief Executive, Singapore Tourism Board
  • Mr Hsieh Fu Hua, President & Executive Director, Temasek Holdings Pte Ltd
  • Ms Melissa Aratani Kwee, Vice President (Human Capital), Pontiac Land Group
  • Mr Ng Cher Pong, Deputy Secretary (Policy), Ministry of Education
  • Mr Benson Puah, CEO, National Arts Council
  • Ms Priscylla Shaw, Member, Shaw Foundation


Mr Edmund Cheng continues his second three-year term (1 July 2008 to 30 June 2011) as the NAC Chairman.


Council members are drawn from a cross-section of leading and prominent figures from the public and private sectors, as well as the arts community. The Council guides the work of the NAC in the development and promotion of the arts in Singapore. In particular, the Council oversees matters of corporate and financial governance, and advises the management on the planning of major arts initiatives and schemes.


The Council would like to thank outgoing members Dr Chua Chee Lay, Mr Guy Harvey-Samuel, Mr Isa Kamari, Mr Iskandar Ismail, Ms Kok Lee Kwang, Mr Kwek Leng Joo, Mr Lee Suan Hiang, Prof Jeremy Monteiro, Ms Nirmala Seshadri, Mr Ong Kim Seng, Mr Ow Chio Kiat, Mr Venka Purushothaman, Mr Tan Boon Huat, Mr Seow Choke Meng and Mr Woon Tai Ho for their contributions and services to the Council.


The full list of Council members is in the Annex.