Appointment of National Arts Council Members


The Minister for Information, Communications and The Arts has appointed 11 new members to the National Arts Council for a 2-year term from 1 September 2008 to 31 August 2010.  They are:

  • Dr Chua Chee Lay, Chief Executive, CL Lab Pte Ltd
  • Mr Guy Harvey-Samuel, Chief Executive Officer, Singapore, The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited
  • Mr Isa Kamari, Writer
  • Mr Iskandar Mirza bin Ismail, Music Composer
  • Ms Kok Lee Kwang, Deputy Director/Humanities & Aesthetics, Ministry of Education
  • Ms Melissa Kwee, Chairwoman, Halogen Foundation (Singapore)
  • Mr Ong Kim Seng, Visual Artist
  • Mr Ow Chio Kiat, Executive Chairman, Stamford Land Corporation Ltd
  • Mr Venka Purushothaman, Provost & Chief Academic Officer, LASALLE College of the Arts
  • Ms Nirmala Seshadri, Dancer/Choreographer/Writer
  • Mr Woon Tai Ho, Managing Director, MediaCorp Pte Ltd (News)


The following nine existing members were re-appointed for a 2-year term:

  • Mr Lee Suan Hiang, Chief Executive Officer, National Arts Council
  • Mr Hsieh Fu Hua, Chief Executive Officer, Singapore Exchange Limited
  • Mr Kwek Leng Joo, Managing Director, City Developments Limited
  • Mr Lim Neo Chian, Deputy Chairman & Chief Executive, Singapore Tourism Board
  • Professor Jeremy Monteiro, Jazz Pianist/Composer/Educator
  • Mr Ng Cher Pong, Divisional Director, Workplace Policy and Strategy Division, Ministry of    Manpower
  • Mr Seow Choke Meng, Executive Vice President, Administration Division cum Cultural  Industry Promotion, Chinese Newspapers Division, Singapore Press Holdings Limited
  • Ms Priscylla Shaw, Member, Shaw Foundation & Chairman, Asian Civilisations Museum
  • Mr Tan Boon Huat, Chief Executive Director, People’s Association


The Chairman of the National Arts Council, Mr Edmund Cheng was re-appointed for a second 3-year term with effect from 1 July 2008.


Council members are drawn from a cross-section of leading and prominent figures from the public and private sectors, as well as the arts community.  The 21-member Council guides the work of NAC and helps shape the direction and formulation of arts policy and strategy for the development and promotion of the arts in Singapore. It also advises the management on the planning and operation of the Council’s major arts initiatives and schemes.


The Council would like to thank outgoing members Mr Chua Thian Poh, Mr Philip Antony Jeyaretnam, Ms Ho Peng , Mr Lee Tzu Yang , Dr Finian Tan Seng Chin , Mr Sarkasi bin Said, Mr Ong Keng Sen , Ms Vera Ong for their contributions and services to the Council.


Annex: Full Council Members List