Nominations for the 2009 Arts Awards are now open!


Nominations for the 2009 Arts Awards are now open!


At this year’s stately Arts Awards in October, talented musician Iskandar Mirza Ismail and literary luminaries Chia Hwee Pheng and P. Krishnan ascended to the distinguished ranks of Cultural Medallion recipients. In additional, promising artists Daniel Kok Yik Leng, Xia Haiying, Aidli Mosbit, Cai Bi Xia and Jason Wee were honorably accorded the Young Artist Award.


Who deserve to receive the Arts Awards in 2009?


Nominations for the 2009 Cultural Medallion and Young Artist Award are now open. The National Arts Council encourages the public to actively participate in nominating deserving Singapore artists for the Awards. Nominations can be made online at the National Arts Council website: Nominees must be Singaporean or Permanent Residents of Singapore. The closing date for nominations is Friday, 30 January 2009.


The Cultural Medallion, instituted in March 1979, is conferred by the President of the Republic ofSingapore to individuals who have attained artistic excellence. To date, the Medallion has been awarded to 93 artists.


The Young Artist Award was introduced in 1992 to encourage the development of new artistic talent inSingapore. The Award, presented by the Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts, is accorded to young artists, aged 35 years and below, who have shown promise of artistic excellence. The Young Artist Award has been awarded to 96 budding artists to date.


The Cultural Medallion and the Young Artist Award have four broad categories for nominations:

  1. literary arts - plays, poetry, fiction and non-fiction
  2. performing arts - theatre, dance, music and technical theatre (eg. set design, lighting design, sound design)
  3. visual arts - painting, drawing, printmaking, photography, sculpture, installation and multimedia
  4. film - film making


Nominations supported by the National Arts Council will be assessed by specialist panels for literary arts, performing arts, visual arts, and film. These panels comprising individuals established in the respective fields will be appointed by the National Arts Council.


Assessment is based on the following criteria:

  1. Candidate should be recognised for his/her artistic work and contribution.
  2. Candidate should have attained artistic excellence (for Cultural Medallion award) or shown potential to excel in his/her field of work (for Young Artist award).
  3. Candidate should demonstrate, through a body of works pursued through a number of years, creative originality and professional maturity in one or more disciplines as specified in the scope of award.
  4. Candidate could be an inspiration and role model to other young artists in the arts community.