2006 Arts Awards


Awards Open for Nominations


Who are your cultural heroes?


In October this year, five artists were conferred the Cultural Medallion while seven others received the Young Artist Award. The Cultural Medallion recipients were M Balakrishnan, Chng Seok Tin, Dick Lee, Lee Wen and Jack Neo, while Heman Chong, Aaron Khek, Michael Lee, Li Xie, Alvin Pang, Katryna Tan and Cyril Wong received the Young Artist Award.  Who do you think deserves to be considered for next year's award?


Nominations for the 2006 Arts Awards are now open. The National Arts Council encourages the public to actively participate in nominating well-deserving Singapore artists for the Awards. The closing date for nominations is Monday, 16 January 2006. 


The Arts Awards, comprising the Cultural Medallion and the Young Artist Award, has four broad categories for nominations. These are namely, literary arts, performing arts, visual arts and film.


Details of the broad categories are as follows:

 Art Form  Scope (includes, but is not restricted to)
 Literary Arts  Plays, poetry, fiction and non-fiction
 Performing Arts  Theatre, dance, music and technical theatre
 (eg. set design, lighting design, sound design)
 Visual Arts  Painting, drawing, printmaking, photography,
 sculpture, installation and multimedia
 Film  Film-making


Nominations supported by the Council will be submitted to Specialist Panels for further assessment. These Specialist Panels for literary arts, performing arts, visual arts and film respectively will comprise individuals established in the various fields, and will be appointed by the Council.


Assessment by the Specialist Panels is based on the following principal criteria:

a. Candidate should be recognized for his/her artistic work and contribution.

b. Candidate should have attained artistic excellence (for Cultural Medallion award) or have shown potential to excel in his/her field of work (for Young Artist award).

c. Candidate should demonstrate, through a body of works pursued through a number of years, creative originality and professional maturity in one or more disciplines as specified in the scope of award.  

d. Candidate could be an inspiration and role model to other young artists in the arts community


2006 Cultural Medallion

The Cultural Medallion, instituted in March 1979, is conferred by the Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts on individuals who have attained artistic excellence.  To date, the Medallion has been awarded to 86 artists.


2006 Young Artist Award

The Young Artist Award was introduced in 1992 to encourage the development of artistic talent in Singapore.  The Award is accorded to young artists, aged 35 years and below, who have shown promise of artistic excellence. To date, the Award has been conferred on 78 recipients.


For easy access to the public, all nominations for the Cultural Medallion and Young Artist Award can now be made on-line at the National Arts Council website: www.nac.gov.sg  Nominees must be Singaporean or permanent residents of Singapore. 


For public enquiries, please contact Ms Christina Sho (DID: 6837 9746, email:christina_sho@nac.gov.sg) or Ms Avin Lee (DID: 6837 9857, email: avin_lee@nac.gov.sg).