NAC Announces 2004 Scholarships and Bursaries Awards


Recipients Pursuing Courses in Non-Traditional and Traditional Art Forms, reflecting an increasingly vibrant arts scene in Singapore.


Presentation Ceremony


Date: Monday, 30 August 2004 
Time: 10:30am

Ngee Ann Auditorium, (Basement)

Asian Civilisations Museum (Empress Place)
Guest-of-Honour: Dr Lee Boon Yang, Minister for Information, Communications, and the Arts 


The National Arts Council (NAC) today announced that it has awarded scholarships and bursaries totalling S$764,700 to 65 arts practitioners and students this year. Among the courses being pursued are non-traditional art forms such as digital photography as well as traditional art forms such as music and visual arts.


NAC scholarships and bursaries are awarded annually for local and overseas studies in the performing, literary and visual arts, arts management, technical design and arts production. Deserving recipients for 2004 include digital photographer, Jason Wee Han Chong; erhu performer with the Singapore Chinese Orchestra, Wilson Neo Yong Soon; former Straits Times’ arts correspondent, Tan Shzr Ee (Shell-NAC Arts Scholars); and visual artist Debbie Teo Hwee Lee (Chen Chong Swee Arts Scholar).


Ms Carol Tan, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, National Arts Council said: “This year’s recipients have displayed a strong commitment to further develop their skills and thus continually nurture their artistic potential and talent in unique and diverse areas. We look forward to today’s award winners delivering a significant impact on the development of the local arts scene, thus enhancing Singapore’s status as an increasingly vibrant hub for both traditional and “non-traditional” art forms.”


The following scholarships and bursaries will be presented at the Ceremony on 30 August 2004 by Dr Lee Boon Yang, Minister for Information, Communications and The Arts:

  • Shell-NAC Arts Scholarship
  • Chen Chong Swee Arts Scholarship
  • Georgette Chen Arts Scholarship
  • NACArts Bursaries (Overseas and Local)


There are no new recipients for the Arts Professional Scholarship and the Gifted Young Musicians’ Bursary this year due to a lack of suitable candidates.


2004 Shell-NAC Arts Scholarship

Launched in 1991, 27 promising young individuals have since been awarded the prestigious Scholarship to pursue undergraduate to post-graduate studies in various fields. The 2004 Scholarship will be awarded to three recipients, Jason Wee Han Chong, Wilson Neo Yong Soon and Tan Shzr Ee for pursuing digital photography, ethnic music and ethnomusicology respectively.


"As a caring and dynamic innovator, Shell is committed to sustainable development - ensuring the overall quality of life in the community we operate in for the long-term.  And the arts in Singapore has been highlighted to be an important dimension. This year, I am delighted that one of the Shell-NAC scholarships will be for a course in Beijing, which is a first, with the other two scholars going to New York and London. I am confident that the creative flair, capacities and commitment of these three new ambassadors of the arts will be significantly enhanced by the enrichment made possible by their Shell-NAC scholarships. This will no doubt boost the overall standards of the arts in Singapore, contributing meaningfully to Singapore's social capital.  Shell is thrilled to invest in the community through these outstanding individuals and offer them our heartiest congratulations,” said Mr Albert Tan, Shell's General Manager for External Affairs.


Chen Chong Swee Arts Scholarship

Set up in commemoration of the late pioneer artist Chen Chong Swee, the Scholarship assists visual artists to undertake post-graduate studies or research programmes overseas. The recipient is Debbie Teo Hwee Lee who will receive the maximum quantum of $25,000.


Georgette Chen Arts Scholarship

Funded by a donation from the estate of the late pioneer artist Georgette Chen, the Scholarship provides assistance to students pursuing full-time diploma courses in performing arts and fine arts at the Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts and LaSalle-SIA College of the Arts. A total of $35,000 will be awarded to 13 promising students this year of which three of these students are renewal recipients.


NAC Arts Bursaries (Overseas and Local)

A total of $488,500 will be awarded to 47 artists and arts students under NAC’s Overseas and Local Arts Bursaries, in support of their training at local and overseas arts institutions. Some of this year’s notable recipients include visual artists such as Adele Tan and Ng Woon Lam, theatre practitioners such as Wendy Ng and Tang Fu Kuen and writers such as Lee Yew Leong and Susie Lingham.


A list of the recipients and the amounts awarded under the various scholarship and bursary schemes are attached as follows:


  • Annex 1 – Summary of Schemes
  • Annex 2 – List of recipients of the Shell-NAC Arts Scholarship, Chen Chong Swee Arts Scholarship and Georgette Chen Arts Scholarship
  • Annex 3 – List of recipients of NAC Overseas and Local Arts Bursaries
  • Annex 4 – Programme