2003 Cultural Medallion & Young Artist Award




Presentation Ceremony


 Date:  26 September 2003 (Friday) 
 Time:  6.15 pm
 Venue:  The Istana
 Guest-of-Honour:  Dr Lee Boon Yang 
 Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts


The Cultural Medallion will be presented to three individuals at the Arts Awards 2003 Presentation Ceremony.  Dr Lee Boon Yang, Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts, will also present the Young Artist Award to four recipients at the same ceremony.


First instituted in 1979, the Cultural Medallion award is conferred by the Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts, to recognise individuals who have attained artistic excellence. To date, 77 artists have been conferred the Award. The recipients of the 2003 Cultural Medallion are:

1. Lim Tze Peng (Art)

2. Ong Keng Sen (Theatre)

3. Yeng Pway Ngon (Literature)


The Young Artist Award recognises artists, aged 35 years old and below, who have shown promise of artistic excellence.  The recipients of the 2003 Young Artist Award are:

1. Zechariah Goh Toh Chai (Music)

2. Noni Kaur (Art)

3. Ken Seet Thiam Wui (Photography)

4. Tan Hwee Hwee (Literature)


Seven specialist panels for film, theatre, music, dance, literature, art and photography were set up to evaluate nominations for the awards.  There were 20 nominees for the Cultural Medallion and 38 nominees for the Young Artist Award.


You are cordially invited to attend and cover the awards presentation ceremony.  Kindly RSVP your attendance with Lynda Lim at DID: 6837 9583, or e-mail: Lynda_LIM@nac.gov.sg using the attached form in Annex 5 by 24 September 2003 (Wednesday).  In compliance with security measures at the Istana, please supply all the information required to ensure your entry into the grounds.


Please find attached:

  • Annex 1:  Contact List of Recipients
  • Annex 2:  Profiles of Recipients
  • Annex 3:  Specialist Panels
  • Annex 4:  Programme for Presentation Ceremony
  • Annex 5:  Media Reply Slip