The Golden Point Award is Singapore’s premier creative writing competition for Short Story and Poetry in the nation’s four official languages: English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil.  Established by the National Arts Council since 1993, the national literary writing competition is a significant platform for discovering new writers whose works exhibit literary merit and encouraging literary expression in Singapore.


Past judges include Madeleine Thien, Suchen Christine Lim, Yeng Pway Ngon, Laksmi Pamuntjak and Jayakanthan.


The list of winners for Golden Point Award 2019 can be found here



The competition consists of the following two genre categories for all four languages:

Genre Short Story Poetry
Language English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil

There is no age limit to enter the competition and entries may be written on any subject and theme.



The following prizes will be awarded for each of the four languages in the two categories:

1st Prize 2nd Prize 3rd Prize
$4,000 cash, certificate, trophy and $6,000 enrichment grant* $3,000 cash & certi­ficate $2,000 cash & certificate

Up to three Honourable Mentions, with a cash prize of $500 each, can be awarded for each category.


*The enrichment grant is awarded to First Prize winners to assist writers in honing their skills through manuscript assessments, editorial services, participation in writing seminars, workshops and residencies in Singapore or overseas.


Who May Participate

The competition is open only to individuals who, at time of application, have yet to publish a solo work in the specific genre they are competing in. Writers whose works have been published in journals or anthologies (whether online or in print) are eligible to enter.


Originality of Entries

Entries must be original and written by the applicant. Entries that have been previously published on public platforms (whether online or in print) or submitted for other competitions are not eligible for this competition.


How to Enter

Submissions for the competition have now closed.


More information and details on the competition’s Terms and Conditions and entry procedures:

(English) (Chinese) (Malay) (Tamil).


The competition was open for submission on the following dates:

Online submission In-person submission at the NAC Reception
1 July to 26 August 2019, by 11.59pm

13 to 26 August 2019, by 5.00pm to:


National Arts Council

90 Goodman Road

Goodman Arts Centre

Blk A, #01-01

Singapore 439053


The NAC Reception is open from Monday to Friday between 9.00am and 5.00pm (closed during lunch from 12.30pm to 1.30pm and on public holidays).


There is a fee of $16 (inclusive of GST) for each entry submission. Payment must be made via credit card during the online submission process.


If you are submitting your entry in person, payment should be made to NAC via PayNow.



For enquiries, please email


Information about previous editions